DC Statehood
Statehood logo
Menu ButtonMENU

About DC Statehood

Since 1801, residents of Washington, DC, abiding by all obligations of United States citizenship, have desired to be equal to all other citizens of the United States of America.

Congress' power over the District
The United States is the only nation in the world with a representative, democratic constitution that denies voting representation in the national legislature to citizens of the capital. In addition, all local legislation, including DC's local budget, must go before Congress for approval. Congress routinely uses this approval period as an opportunity to interfere in local affairs. 

Why Statehood?

DC residents fulfill all the obligations of US citizenship and yet are denied representation.

  • DC residents pay the highest per-capita federal income taxes in the US,
  • DC has 712,000 residents, more than Vermont and Wyoming and comparable with other states including Delaware, Alaska, and several others.
  • DC residents have fought and died in every war, yet those armed service members are denied the freedoms they have fought to protect.
  • DC elects a non-voting Delegate to the US House of Representatives who can draft legislation but cannot vote. The current Delegate for DC is Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton
  • Statehood is the only remedy that provides full representation in Congress for the residents of Washington, DC.

We are Washington, DC—the 51st State.